…because with twenty-four hours in a day its the only fiction you have time to read

Died in the Wool                                    by Elizabeth Ludwig and Janelle Mowery

In this hometown mystery Monah, the town librarian, is  on a mission to get much-needed funds to purchase computers for her little library.  She’s up against quite a bit of competition, including her boyfriend who wants the funds for police department improvements.

When her competition starts dying, fingers point to Monah as a likely suspect.  She has given them both water bottles right before they died.  Toxicology reports show that they died from Monkshood poisoning, but that doesn’t narrow down the suspect pool, because the garden club sent out monkshood seeds to all its members this spring.  Since she knows she didn’t do it, Monah realizes that she or her boyfriend might be next on the killers to-do list. 

Suspects abound in this cute cozy mystery.  It is a good read for when you want something lighthearted and easy to read.  Several times I thought I knew who did it, but I kept changing my mind.  Right up until the end of the story,  I was still searching for the answer to this pleasant who-done-it.  I give it 3 Stars.

Died in the Wool is book two in the Massachusetts Mayhem Mysteries, part of the Hometown Mystery collection by Barbour Books Publishing. 

I was provided with this book by the publisher through NetGalley.  All opinions rendered are my own.

Tell me what you think.

Tag Cloud